How to Re-Invent yourself in One Year

Leo Valentino shows how to re-invent yourself

How to Re-Invent yourself This Year

Have you ever felt like you're living on autopilot?

Doing the same shit every day. With the same negative people. With nothing to look forward to.

What if I told you that the life you're living is a result of your personality?

I'm here to tell you that the practical solution to re-inventing yourself isn't about creating new goals this year.

It's about taking a look at your negative character traits and creating a new set of traits you want to identify with.

This newsletter will help you break out of your old loop and create your best version of yourself.

Can we change our personality?

So where does our personality come from and how do we change it?

In January 2022, I faced a turning point in my life.

Although I was on a self-development journey, I still had a lot of negative traits that held me back.

I would look in the mirror and hated the person I saw. I just wouldn't look at myself.

I was broke, I was insecure, and I had no direction in life. I felt confused and hopeless.

One day I just felt so lost and trapped in life so I listened to a Podcast.

This podcast talked about re-inventing yourself by re-inventing your character traits.

The host basically told me that our traits make up our entire life. If we're a negative person, we'll attract a negative life.

If we're charming and optimistic, we'll see life in a whole new light.

Our personality comes from our family, the education system, and life experiences.

He said "although core parts of personality are quite stable, a majority of your character can change through mental frameworks".

That's when I tried the framework I'm about to show you.

I grabbed a piece of paper and listed the all traits that I didn't like about myself "Insecure, Negative, Complainer, etc."

I labeled this version of myself the "The Peasant"

Then I sat and envisioned my ideal self, 10 years from now. I wrote down all the traits of this person. I labeled him "The King"

I then committed to destroying my old traits and recreating myself with my ideal traits.

Each day, I asked myself: "Am I embodying the Peasant or the King?"

A year later, as I was digging through my old journals, I found the paper.

I read both sides and realized that I fully embodied every single trait on the right side, and removed almost every trait on the peasant side.

This simple yet profound practice reshaped my identity and life trajectory.

Take a second to save this video because you'll want to come back to it to see how far you've come.

The Peasant vs. King Framework:

  • Take out a big white piece of paper

  • Draw a line in the middle of the paper. On the left side put 'The Peasant ', and on the right side write 'The King' Personalize it by writing your name after each.

  • List your old self's negative traits on the Peasant side, and your ideal self's traits on the King side.

  • Each morning, look at the King side and remind yourself of who you're becoming.

  • Throughout your day, constantly ask: "Am I the Peasant or the King?"

  • Reflect and journal each night.

If you do this everyday, you will realize a change almost immediately.

You will see how much your old personality effected your life.

Goals and Identity

Our identities are shaped by our character traits and our ideal self.

Our traits influence how we interpret situations, which then shape our actions and our identities.

This is why creating this framework is so crucial.

It's about breaking free from the pessimistic personality that society trains us to be,

And creating the best version of yourself that can achieve your goals.

Closing Thoughts

Your personality is not static. It's ever-changing as you go throughout life.

When you put yourself through different actions and habits, your personality begins to change.

If you choose to start seeing things with optimism, you will see how fast your identity changes.

You're no longer a pessimist.

You're not just changing habits, you're reshaping your entire being.

Embrace this journey, and in a few months you will be astonished at the transformation.

But just remember, nothing changes if nothing changes.

P.S: By the way guys, this journey helps so much more when you have good people around you. I just posted a video last week about how to attract the right people here.